DWI Offenses And The Consequences
If you were recently arrested and charged with a DWI offense in Houston, you could be facing serious legal and financial trouble.
According to Wallethub.com, Texas is one of the ten most strict states in DWI offenses in the U.S. What does this mean for you?
Charged with DWI in Houston?
Before you go in front of a judge, you should know what your options are and what you are possibly facing. Being better prepared for your case can mean how much or how little you pay, and whether or not you will face imprisonment. Having an experienced Houston DWI Lawyer like Tad A. Nelson can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case. If you’re looking for a DWI lawyer in Houston, we recommend the attorney listed below.
Attorney Tad A. Nelson
405 Main St #840
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: (713) 489-7373
First DWI Offense
Everyone from politicians to famous athletes have been arrested for a DWI. The point is, everyone is human, and everyone makes mistakes.
If you have been arrested for a DWI, it is best for you to consult with a professional legal team, as the laws today have become tougher even on first time offenders.
Possible Penalties Levied With A First DWI Conviction
Penalties and sentences have become harsher over the years, due to stringent legislation being passed and the demand from social group to enforce tougher drinking and driving laws.
Fine: A person that is convicted of a DWI their first time could pay up to $2,000
Imprisonment: If you are convicted for your first DWI, you could serve three days or as many as six months of jail time.
Your Texas Driver’s License: Losing your driver’s license can have its economic and social disadvantages, and even if it is your first DWI conviction, your license could be suspended 90 days or up to a year.
Second DWI Offense
If you have been arrested a second time for a DWI, it’s safe to say that you probably know how things go as far as the court system is concerned. However, if you “got off easy” the first time, your second time may not be as lucky.
A second DWI offense in Texas is more problematic, and the fines are more severe. This is simply due to your history, while the judge has a record of you and the courts may see you as “troubled.”
Once you have been charged with the second offense, it would be best for you to consult with a lawyer to see if you have any possibilities of reducing sentencing and fines.
Possible Penalties For Your Second Offense
Because it is your second offense regarding a DWI, expect the fines to be at least double of what you paid for the first as the courts will have less sympathy for a second time offender.
Fine: For your second offense, a DWI conviction will cost you up to $,4000.
Imprisonment: A second DWI conviction could warrant you anywhere from a 30 day to a one year jail sentence.
Your Texas Drivers License: The courts may suspend your Texas license anywhere from 180 days to a year for your second DWI conviction.
Third DWI Offense
When you get arrested a third time for a DWI offense in Houston, the person convicted will potentially face serious penalties.
A third DWI offense is typically prosecuted as a Felony offense in the state of Texas. This could lead to much higher fines and harsh prison sentencing.
Possible Penalties For A Third DWI Offense
Fine: If you are arrested a third time and convicted for a third DWI offense, you could pay up to $10,000.
Imprisonment: A person convicted of a Felony offense, with their third DWI, could face a prison term from two to ten years.
Your Texas Drivers License: If you are convicted of a third DWI offense, your driver’s license could be suspended from six months up to two years. To note, the time of your license suspension would not take into effect until your jail sentence has been served or satisfied.
There are instances, where certain cases have avoided imprisonment even after a conviction. Even with a conviction, depending on your judge and lawyer, you could be allowed the opportunity of being under community supervision.
Certain factors can be put into consideration by a judge to determine whether or not you will serve prison time. These factors are but not limited to; how long it has been since your last offense, if there was a mishandling of evidence, what your blood alcohol concentration was at the time of the arrest, and if there was an accident.
Texas along with many states in the U.S. are continuing to push for more stringent laws with DWI offenses, due to the public demand to keep the roads safe.